Brings You Clarity With Spiritual Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

Harvest moon
The Harvest Moon is coming this Thursday! The moon has been waxing larger each night, and full moon is the night of September 19, 2013. In traditional skylore, the Harvest Moon is the full moon closest to the autumnal equinox. This is known as the Nut Moon. The Ripe Corn Festival is held in the early part of this moon to acknowledge the Corn Mother and the Earth Mother. The Brush Feast festival is also held. Fruits and nuts are still being gathered, much of which goes into breads. Hunting in earnest begins.
.
The moon officially turns full when it reaches the spot in the sky opposite (180 degrees) from the sun. That moment will occur on Thursday (Sept. 19) at 7:13 a.m. EDT (1113 GMT). Thursday’s full moon is the one nearest to the September equinox this year, making it the Harvest Moon by the usual definition.

This full moon’s name is attributed to Native Americans because it marked when corn was supposed to be harvested. Most often, the September full moon is actually the Harvest Moon, which is the full Moon that occurs closest to the autumn equinox. In two years out of three, the Harvest Moon comes in September, but in some years it occurs in October. At the peak of harvest, farmers can work late into the night by the light of this Moon. Usually the full Moon rises an average of 50 minutes later each night, but for the few nights around the Harvest Moon, the Moon seems to rise at nearly the same time each night: just 25 to 30 minutes later across the U.S., and only 10 to 20 minutes later for much of Canada and Europe. Corn, pumpkins, squash, beans, and wild rice the chief Indian staples are now ready for gathering

The moon will appear round and full on all the nights around this full moon. So why is this moon – the moon closest to the autumnal equinox – called the Harvest Moon? The shorter-than-usual time between moonrises around the full Harvest Moon means no long period of darkness between sunset and moonrise for days in succession. In the days before tractor lights, the lamp of the Harvest Moon helped farmers to gather their crops, despite the diminishing daylight hours. As the sun’s light faded in the west, the moon would soon rise in the east to illuminate the fields throughout the night.

Who named the Harvest Moon? Full Moon names date back to Native Americans, of what is now the northern and eastern United States. The tribes kept track of the seasons by giving distinctive names to each recurring full Moon. Their names were applied to the entire month in which each occurred. There was some variation in the Moon names, but in general, the same ones were current throughout the Algonquin tribes from New England to Lake Superior. European settlers followed that custom and created some of their own names. Since the lunar month is only 29 days long on the average, the full Moon dates shift from year to year That name probably sprang to the lips of farmers throughout the Northern Hemisphere, on autumn evenings, as the Harvest Moon aided in bringing in the crops.

The name was popularized in the early 20th century by the song below.

Shine On Harvest Moon
By Nora Bayes and Jack Norworth (1903)
“Shine on, shine on harvest moon
Up in the sky,
I ain’t had no lovin’
Since January, February, June or July
Snow time ain’t no time to stay
Outdoors and spoon,
So shine on, shine on harvest moon,
For me and my gal.”

It is time for us to spiritually shed the dead parts from our souls and make way for the new growth that is being released at this sacred time. This is your opportunity to advance your soul growth. Do not let this moment pass you by.

Comments on: "Full Harvest Moon September 19, 2013" (4)

  1. Thanks Cherokee, very interesting to read.

  2. Cherokee Billie Love and Light,
    You have been and always will be a beacon of inspiration in my life.
    I want to share a few things with all that know and read words of wisdom from Cherokee Billie….
    She channel in on me and Wow!
    I know an Angel sent Cherokee Billie to me…Because of a dream I had…When I found Cherokee I was a winded up toy hitting the wall no focus, no life, nothing lived inside of me totally flat line…I was an empty shell of a person. Not that beautiful vessel God gave to all of us of the flesh. It took forty five years to get to that point in my life…Years of disrespect, mental, verbal, physical, abused and controlled…Yes very much cheated on….given a STD while 32 weeks with child (first and only)she die in my womb because of STD…All sweeped under a rug..Young and in Love….afraid to tell anyone because of his military career and my father, afraid of what my father might have done if he knew the treatment I was getting from this man…Loving this man more than I was loving God our Creator (Born & raised in Holiness Church) Fasting was my way of enter peace from Friday at dust until Sunday dust once a month. I learned later at his retirement I had several letters of recommendation in his file (no matter what you do as a military dependent spouse) we also get notification at retirement too be it good or bad. I also received a Certificate at his retirement from President George Bush Senior (very shock didn’t realize helping others at the time and helping him on his job was being noted). …Oh yes cops was called by the neighbors he was remove from the house but always came back saying “this is my mo#*# fu*kN house!…You get out!”…..still in love…Girlfriends coming by disrespecting me..in public totally could not see me…(” he would I say wasn’t looking for you that’s why I did see you” even though we where riding in the same car) go figure!….As we say it was straw that broke the camel’s back, when he decided to take a child into my bed while I laid asleep on the sofa …17 years of age they took pictures, she posted them on her space page….yes you are right….The ripe age of sixty said no more…The first time Cherokee spoke to me her first words….You need to get out of that marriage…You are the only one that’s married…Every word she said to me was so true…I had not said a word to her about anything that was going on…She told me he was hiding money from me I could never get that part because he didn’t know how to write a check or withdrawal money from the our banking account, didn’t know the banking account number until a week ago (September 10, 2013 the same account we’ve had for 38years)…By the way I haven’t told Cherokee yet but! I found the money he was hiding…Yes it was my birth coins sliver and gold old money from my grandparents. Also, Cherokee said I would meet someone, she wasn’t sure, quote” I think his name is Ben, Benjamin I know it begins with a B..and he is going to change your life. By way Cherokee I met aka Ben (Benjamin Stone). Also, I did get to Africa! what a surprise that was hmmm! didn’t see that one coming…Sure wasn’t on my bucket list ( I didn’t have a bucket list) I sure do now…Did I mention how Cherokee said the Judge would completely rule in my favor…Oh Yes…got every thing I even get to keep the life insurance policies…all military benefits….half of his pay….half of the investments..spouse support..he has to pay the rent in the house as long as I live here..even if I remarry the judgment still stays. Yes I am a divorce woman now…Belief it or not every single word Cherokee said to me has come to pass…I follow her words of guidance to the letter…Her mediation…I totally stay in the light now…Cherokee taught me how to go to the light….and find myself back to a happy place…I got my happy back…The joy that lives inside of me is seen by all…Peace and Positive life I live now is because of finding Cherokee. I know longer live with negative energy any longer..No drama, no chaos I am living and growing. My life is wonderful!! God is good every day…Each morning before sun raise I go to the Ocean to mediate and pray, its a wonderful feeling I am so graceful and appreciative of her…

    Cherokee Billie! I love you! Thank you for saving my life….
    Peace, Love, Joy, Light, and Happiness

    Let your Energy for be within Us!

    Always

    Faithin2u

    • Dear Rosanna:
      Your letter moved me to tears. God bless you for taking the time to let me know what has happened with you. I have often wondered how life turned out for you. I’m glad that I’ve been a part of your life and have helped you on your path. I see nothing but good ahead of you and a lot more happiness. You’ll never know how much I needed this letter tonight. Unfortunately my business is going under because of the large corporations and I do not know how I will be able to survive. That’s why your letter meant so much. I thank you from the bottom of my heart.
      With love, Billie

Comments are closed.