Visit: CherokeeBillieSpiritualAdvisor,com Call 786.375.5434

 

Elvis Presley in 1969

Elvis Presley in 1969

82 years ago, January 08, 1935, Elvis Presley came into this world. He certainly shook it up forever. I remember being five years old and seeing him the first time he was on the Ed Sullivan show. I stood in the middle of the living room dancing much to the delight of my family. My mother loved him from the moment she saw him because he came from a poor southern upbringing just like her. You can say from that moment on I was a rock and roll fan.

In 1969 Elvis made his big comeback in Las Vegas.   My best girl friend and I saw him perform the very first week at the International Hotel. He was really on top of his performance in 1969. Dressed in an all black karate suit he came on stage without all the glitz, sparkle, and glamour and just rocked the house.

In 1969 one of my best friends was in the marines and on the weekends he would bring his buddies to my apartment and they would play music and different games. I will never forget this one young man who kept playing my album “Elvis 68” over and over again one weekend. The song he would play the most was, “If I Could Dream.” It is a powerful song that Elvis felt was his message to the world about how it could change if it wanted to. He went to Vietnam and never made it back. To this day when I hear that song I still remember that young man.

I continued to see him perform in Las Vegas over the years and his voice was always outstanding, but there was a change in him and I did not feel him connecting to the audience. Little did I know of his troubles.

I felt a great loss when he passed in 1977. He was so young and so much ahead of him. He lives on through his music and movies. The world was never the same after Elvis Presley. He definitely made a major impact that lasts even now. Not bad for a poor southern boy.

Gone but never forgotten and he always will be the King of Rock And Roll! John Lennon once said, “Before Elvis there was nothing.” He of course was referring to Elvis’s music. I am enclosing my favorite song “If I Can Dream” by Elvis Presley.

All I can say is that I am glad that I lived to experience so many great musicians in my lifetime. There’s no question that Elvis Presley is the King of Rock And Roll. You will never be forgotten Elvis.

Please share your memories and thoughts about Elvis.

Happy birthday in Heaven Elvis,
Cherokee Billie

Comments on: "Elvis Presley’s 82th birthday!" (4)

  1. My step mother shared the same birthday as Elvis. My half brother, shares the same day, not year! 🙂

  2. Even though I was born the same year Elvis died, I still love and respect him as an artist and person. I always remember a vivid dream I had about him years ago, and he was looking so happy and healthy in it – it’s always stuck with me. The story you shared about the young man who never made it back from Vietnam, is really sad, what a waste of a young life. Thanks Cherokee❤

    • Your dream was certainly interesting. I’m sure that he is happy in the spirit world. He was a beautiful spirit and will always be remembered. Yes, many young men did not return from Vietnam and those that did were never the same. Thank you for your comment. With love, Cherokee Billie ❤

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

