Visit: CherokeeBillieSpiritualAdvisor,com Call 786.375.5434

Copy of bookcover_lCUT

Spiritual people who have written about their spiritual path usually have unique stories, but my journey was far more outlandish than most.  I would say that my spiritual journey starts based on religion making me an atheist.  I was a devout atheist for ten years, even though I could read people quite well and saw things that I didn’t understand.

The Creator has an interesting way to reach each one of us and he found mine through a man named Gideon.

This is the story of my induction into the bizarre, nominally Christian cult calling itself The Family, originally known as Children of God. My story, however, is not about Christianity but about love, lust, betrayal, mind control, mental abuse, health crisis, and lack of care.

In 1978, as a naive ailing 26 year old, I have a chance encounter in a Los Angeles shopping center with, a missionary named Gideon who introduced me to his dreams, desires, and deceptions.  Lured by his seeming devotion to me and to God, as well as his sizzling sexuality, and yearning for a meaningful role in the world, I fell in love—both with Gideon and the spiritual promise he was offering. What followed was a torrent of emotions, especially when I was asked to use my body to win souls for Jesus. Caught in the whirlpool of love, sacred aspiration and unbridled sexuality, I attempted to reconcile my feelings for Gideon and God with the teachings of the cult’s self-proclaimed prophet, Moses David.

Through marriage to Gideon, I found myself in the battle of my life as I sought to secure his love. As my health spiraled downward I was continually berated by Gideon for my lack of faith in God and His prophet Moses David.  Ultimately I learned that I had to find my own truth or lose my soul. After years of mental abuse I left Gideon and The Family.

Going back into the world after The Family left me feeling like a misfit. The continual battles with Gideon over fornication and adultery left me unable to cope with the real world. I devoted myself to education, Personal spirituality, and helping others.

Eventually my health completely broke down from the effects of Fibromyalgia, Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy, a hip injury, and a dash of Parkinson’s disease for good measure. Becoming bedridden opened up a world I was not prepared for. I expected compassion and sympathy instead I found I had to fight caregivers and doctors to stay alive, without the support of family (being deceased) and friends.

I’m offering my book; the only one written from the standpoint of a person seduced into The Family at a nominal cost. Your money will go to pay caregivers. Thank you.

Click Here To Purchase.

Many blessings,
Cherokee Billie

Listen to me read the first chapter of my book.

Comments on: "My Unusual Spiritual Journey" (11)

  1. Oh I have heard a lot about The Children of God. Your story is sad. It took so much strength for you to leave. I admire you for writing about this.

  2. I am buying your book.

    • Thank you so much for your comment. It was not an easy story to tell, but it has stopped one person from joining this group and I feel that in itself is a great reward. I know that you will enjoy my story and I would love to hear from you after you have read the book. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie ❤

  3. Holy Spirit Sister ♡ ♡ What a gripping listen. .Your bravery is apparent writing about this and I would think very cleansing too. .Writing myself alot lately. ..let you know more soon. ..I’ve heard a lot about “The Family “…some paths are definitely for the strongest people who have more to offer than the obvious. That is the oddest pick up line I think I’ve ever heard. ..Big sigh Sister ♡ You are a great example of people not having walked in anothers’ shoes. ..Bless you and May the Creator provide what you need xo Peace keep you. ..sending Sisterly love to you ♡

    • You made me laugh with the statement “That is the oddest pick up line I think I’ve ever heard.” It was definitely the strangers I had ever heard and that’s what intrigued me. In the 70’s The Family made quite a name for itself. Leave it to me find the weirdest group on the planet. At least I was able to come out of it – many never have. I appreciate your comment and the good wishes. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

  4. Many books have been written by former members of TFI, exposing a childhood robbed of innocense and filled with sex, abuse, treatment so harsh it’s not even used in prisons, and torture. Billie’s book is the only book telling what it was like to be seduced into the cult through their ministry “Flirty Fishing”. TFI has for decades portrayed themselves as having a Christianity that has a flash of being exceptional, and this is one thing that lured Billie in to it. Thankfully she got out, and can share her story with the world. Now, I have this question: WHY is this not on any Best Seller List? It should be!

    • I know that you have read my book many times over my friend and I appreciate your wonderful words and review. I hope that people will be moved by your words and purchase my book as it comes in many different forms. I agree I think it should be up there with the other books written by Former Family members. Thank you so much for your kind words. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

  5. I read your book about two years ago, and I can truly tell you I couldn’t put it down! Your honesty and intelligent way of writing makes this book not only a fascinating, but educational read. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

    Thank you Cherokee for writing it, and sharing your painful, fascinating yet triumphant story.

    • I really appreciate your review of my book. I know that anyone who reads it cannot put it down because you keep wondering what’s going to happen next. I kept wondering that myself at the time. Thank you for taking the time to put down your thoughts and hopefully it will inspire people to purchase my memoir. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

  6. I have already read this book – I had to do the reading in only one sitting, because I could not stop. It’s amazing!

    • I appreciate your taking the time to write your impression of my book. Most people who read it cannot put it down. It is good to hear from you again. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

