Brings You Clarity With Spiritual Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

My Father and I

My Father and I

December 27 always is a difficult day for me because my father was the most special person in my life. From the time I was a little girl he was my hero and till the end of his life he was the only person who truly loved me as I was. He always had faith in me, even when I did not.

I have never known a more remarkable person then Bill Chainey

Here’s a brief history about my father.  He was born in 1918 and lived in Tennessee.  When he was a little boy of six years old, in the year 1924, his mother, told him to take his two little brothers and sister and find a way to survive.  There were no social services at that time.  My father did get out and took care of those little kids; they slept in barns until he became old enough to provide a rented home.  He never went to school because he worked any type of job on farms he could and was grateful for the work.  Eventually he was able to buy land and had his own farm.

World War Two came along and he was drafted into the army.  He was shipped to the Philippines and fought in the Pacific.  On one mission his entire platoon was killed and he was shot repeatedly, but played dead and was the only survivor of his platoon.

After the army he returned to farming, but the government had shown him there was better ways to make money and offered him an education.

He married my mother in 1950 and they left Tennessee for a better life. He went into the aerospace industry, which was a booming business.  He became so skilled at making aircraft engine bolts that eventually he formed his own company.

My father was always an Optimist.  No matter how rough thanks got he always felt that things would come out better. He developed Parkinson’s disease in his early sixties and he had a great deal of trouble talking, walking, and driving. He never let it stop him and he always said that he would make it even if he had to crawl. That strength and determination he passed on to me and I think of him always through my own struggles and hear those words, “I will make it even if I have to crawl.”

It’s difficult to express in words all that my father meant to me. These last twenty years without him have been incredibly difficult, because he was the only person that really loved me and he was my security. For twenty years I’ve been without that. It is a lonely feeling.

Yes, I do have spiritual contact with him from time to time. It always happens when I least expect it. A few weeks ago my closest friend was helping me with paperwork and suddenly my walker, which was a few feet from my friend, started moving. My friend looked startled and I’d told him a spirit was here. After he left my father started talking to me and he had basically announced his presence by moving the walker.

At 4:00 AM this morning I spoke with him about so many things. I hope I hear from him soon with replies. The thing that is the hardest is not having him here to talk to and hear his advice when I need it. I know that he cares and that eventually we will meet again face to face. Until then all I can say is, “I miss you Daddy.”

Your daughter,
Billie

Comments on: "Twenty Years Ago Today My Father Passed." (10)

  1. Sharon Verrechia said:

    Such a wonderful tribute to your Father. I’m glad you have beautiful memories. ❤

  2. Your Fathers strength of character has been passed on to you Billie. I’m sure when he looks down he’s so very proud of the way you deal with the many difficulties you have. Wonderful memories of our loved ones who’ve passed are always with us xx

    • I appreciate your comment. I’m sure my father does look down with pride. It’s difficult not having their physical presence and we will always miss our loved ones until we meet again. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

  3. Beautiful tribute to your dad, he must be so proud of the remarkable woman that you are.

  4. I went to the cemetary this morning, to visit with my father who passed in July 2009 and I miss him every day…..As you’ll know, the hole in your heart can never be filled, it’s a place that belongs to our dads only. But, fortunately, I know he watches over me and the rest of his family, just like your dad will be. Travel safe ❤

    • I feel it’s a sacred time when you visit a loved one at a cemetery. I agree the hole can never be Filled or replaced when you lose a loved one. It’s good that you have the reassurance of your father’s presence around you. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

  5. Wells, Robert J. said:

    Beautiful tribute, Billie!

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

