Visit: CherokeeBillieSpiritualAdvisor,com Call 786.375.5434

My Body Does Not Like Daylight Savings Time! Click picture for article
I love the wisdom of the statement by this Human Being. From the time I was little I found that whenever the time changed in the year it would throw off my body. Of course I didn’t understand quite what it was doing when I was a child. As an adult I really started understanding how much it affected me body rhythm and it usually takes me about a month to achieve a state of balance once again.

Daylight saving time (DST) is a change in the standard time with the purpose of getting better use of the daylight by having the sun rise one hour later in the morning and set one hour later in the evening. Although it has only been used in the past hundred years.

I remember in the early 1970’s when there was an energy/fuel crisis and for a few years they stopped the time change. That’s when I realized fully how much the time change was affecting my body. I felt a lot better physically, mentally, and emotionally. I never understood why they implemented it once again.

It’s often been said because it helps farmers. Farmers are going to get up whenever the sun comes up no matter what the clock says.

Perhaps the intelligence behind these time changes understands that it throws off people’s natural body clock. I feel they want to keep people from their natural feelings.

I wonder how many other people go through what I feel when the time changes? I would appreciate if you would let me know what you think about it.

Thank you for reading my opinion on daylight savings time. By the way daylight savings time occurs this Sunday March 09, 2014.

Many blessings,
Cherokee Billie
CherokeeBillie.com

Comments on: "My Body Does Not Like Daylight Savings Time!" (16)

  1. You are so right! The time change throws off my internal clock. It always has. And the older I get the longer it takes my body to adjust the the time change. YUCK!
    I think the Government started that with what they thought was a good idea at the time. But, with the efficiency of modern time keeping. It no longer serves a purpose. It only keeps us out of balance with nature. I hope you get to feeling better soon.

    • I know that I’m not the only one who feels off balance for quite some time after the time change. Whatever the reasons for in the past for doing this it is no longer needed as you state. Wouldn’t it be nice if they didn’t change it twice a year? Let’s hope someday they change back. Thank you for your comment. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

  2. Pamela Austin said:

    I feel the same way it takes me a very long time to adjust!!!

  3. Christina said:

    Never really noticed it, not until I was a teenager at least, and even then it took me a bit to figure out the problem. But yes, I too, have noticed the problem, and wish they would get rid of it.

    • Christina I appreciate your comment. I think that one point we all began to realize how this is not natural. It would be wonderful if the time remain the same year round. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

  4. That’s interesting that it can have an effect on the body. We don’t have daylight saving here so I wouldn’t know any effects.

    • Trust me you’re not missing anything. The majority of Americans would like the same time year round. Good to hear from you! Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

  5. Hi, Billie! I appreciate your view very much, but this is something I am completely the opposite on. I hate “falling back” in the fall/winter so much that when we fall back, I never change my home clocks, car clock, or my watches. I can’t bear the thought of that shortest day of the year being 4-something p.m.! I absolutely love the longer days of spring and summer. I, for one, can’t wait!!! I certainly do appreciate your view, but I absolutely love and always look so forward to DST. Have a great day, and I sincerely do hope you will adjust quickly. Blessings, Barbara

    • Barbara I understand everybody is different and reacts differently to time changes. I do not like either of the time changes because I feel it throws off our body clock. I wrote about this one because it’s coming up and I’ll write about the other later this year. Thank you for your comment and good wishes. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

  6. Barbara said:

    ((((((( Billie ))))))) I always enjoy reading what you write. I guess the world would be pretty boring if everyone was the same!!! I have to be honest…I am already dreading June 22, when the days will start getting shorter again!!! I do sincerely wish you all the best. I wish you tons of blessings!!!

  7. Billie,
    I began to notice how the time change can affect our internal body rhythm when my kids were very little. When the time changed in the spring it seemed to take them both forever to adjust to the change, most especially when it came to bedtimes and meal times , same thing occurred in the fall when the time changed back however, the bedtime issues didn’t seem as difficult due to it became dark outside earlier so convincing both of them it was bedtime was somewhat easier. As I have grown older the time change seems to disrupt my circadian rhythm somewhat, my sleep cycle becomes shorter and more easily interrupted , I become hungry at odd times during the day rather then normal meal times and it seems to take me longer to adjust each year . I would prefer the time remain the same year around, seems to me the usefulness if daylight savings time has run it’s course and if it was partially intended to save energy it makes no sense to me, the more hours of daylight in the summer the more hours my air conditioner must work at its peak to cool my house, if it became dark around 5:30-6pm I could push my thermostat up earlier and save no telling how much energy and money!

    • Thank you for your comment Lisa. I know for a fact that if we have the time the same year round it would conserve energy. As I stated in what I wrote I remember back in the 1970’s when it was not changed and stayed the same year round it was less energy used that’s why they did it. It definitely affects our natural body rhythm. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if the government got a clue again and realized they could save energy by keeping the time the same year round. Many blessings, Cherokee Billie

  8. Linda Jan said:

    Brilliant essay!

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud