Brings You Clarity With Spiritual Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

Testing for Gossip

socrates
Could you pass the test?

In ancient Greece, Socrates was reputed to hold knowledge in high esteem. One day an acquaintance met the great philosopher and said, “Do you know what I just heard about your friend?”

“Hold on a minute,” Socrates replied.
“Before telling me anything I’d like you to pass a little test. It’s called the Triple Filter Test.”

“Triple filter?”

“That’s right,” Socrates continued. “Before you talk to me about my friend, it might be a good idea to take a moment and filter what you’re going to say. That’s why I call it the triple filter test. The first filter is Truth.

Have you made absolutely sure that what you are about to tell me is true?”

“No,” the man said, “Actually I just heard about it and …”

“All right,” said Socrates. “So you don’t really know if it’s true or not. Now let’s try the second filter, the filter of Goodness. Is what you are about to tell me about my friend something good?”

“No, on the contrary…”

“So,” Socrates continued, “you want to tell me something bad about him, but you’re not certain it’s true. You may still pass the test though, because there’s one filter left: the filter of Usefulness. Is what you want to tell me about my friend going to be useful to me?”

“No, not really …”

“Well,” concluded Socrates, “if what you want to tell me is neither true nor good nor even useful, why tell it to me at all?”

Comments on: "Testing for Gossip" (12)

  1. dreamingforbetter said:

    SUPERB, So true and something we should all practice “Triple Filter Test”
    Rebloged

    Thanks for sharing.

    Shaun

    • Shaun Wouldn’t it be a wonderful world if everybody did this instead of listening to hearsay and passing it on? I appreciate your comment and the re posting
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

      • dreamingforbetter said:

        The world would be perfect I guess.
        Each day I am on Worldpress, and the more people I connect with, the more I say to myself “I was sent here” What happened to get me here, was worth it, as I am learning and sharing with real people.

        God Bless
        Shaun

  2. dreamingforbetter said:

    Reblogged this on Looking for reasoning to a complicated world and commented:
    Fantastic read by Cherokee Billie’s Blog.
    This one here is just “WOW”
    And something we should all read, and put into practice. Brilliant!!

  3. harmony77uk said:

    Reblogged this on harmony77uk and commented:
    Wish people did this…..

  4. ann_mccommas@hotmail.com said:

    Love this! Thank you!!!

  5. This is absolutely wonderful! It should be a required test for all! Maybe required for high school graduation or maybe on an entry exam for kindergarten!

  6. My Mum used to tell me that. Thank you for the reminder. 🙂

  7. There is so much wisdom in this story. I am reposting this to my wall on Facebook and sharing it with all of my friends. Will also send a copy to my cousin who has a larger audience than I do……Beautiful. Thanks Cherokee Billie for the beautiful insight.

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud

