Brings You Clarity With Spiritual Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

Please Share to promote Native Culture around the world!

The Daughter of an Indian

We must live in today’s society
And must live just like they do
But we thrive on our Native Ancestry
Wish we could live like them too

We live like Modern Americans
But way down deep inside
We’re full-blooded Native Americans
Which we’re supposed to hide

But I can’t, can’t you see, for I am what I am

And what I am is Native American
I’m so proud, can’t you see, to be what I am –
The daughter of an Indian

They adopted me and tried to change
The reality of what I am

They tried but can’t rearrange
The fact that I am an Indian

In this land I can be what I want
So long as it isn’t Indian

So when I can I try to flaunt
The fact that I am an Indian
For I must, can’t you see, for I am what I am

And what I am is Native American
I’m so proud, can’t you see, to be what I am –
The daughter of an Indian

I was raised as a white American
So I’d forget just what I am

But I was born Native American
And I’m proud of what I am

I was told not to say that I’m Indian
Or some day I’d live to regret it
But I am a Native American
And my soul won’t let me forget it
For I can’t, can’t you see, I am what I am

And what I am is Native American

I’m proud, can’t you see, to be what I am –
The daughter of an Indian

My People call me a Wanna Be
‘Cause I’m not from a reservation

But weren’t Our People once just like me –
Indian without reservation?

I was born a Native American
And I’ll be one ’til the day I die

I can’t let them say I’m not Indian
And I’ll say, when I look ’em in the eye
Why won’t you let me be to be what I am?
And what I am is Native American

I’m so proud I can be so proud that I am –
The daughter of an Indian

I’m a half-breed American…
but a full-blooded Native American

And I’m proud to be an Indian!

Comments on: "Native American Awareness Week April 10-15, 2012" (4)

  1. Beautiful poem. The dichotomy between your “Native American” life and your “modern” life is an issue for many, it seems, from my reading. I am not an indigenous American but wholeheartedly support Native values such as the Seven Generations Ethic.

    • Dear Tom:
      Thank you so much for your post. I wanted to express my feelings as a Native American, so people would understand it’s not always easy for people to believe that you are Native when you have lived in the white man’s world. Thank you for your understanding.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

  2. Mary Catherine Martin said:

    Very nice

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud