Brings You Clarity With Spiritual Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks


Long ago, when Ireland was the land of Druids, there was a great Bishop, Patrick by name, who came to teach the word of God throughout the country. This St. Patrick—for he was indeed a saint—was well loved everywhere he went. One day, however, a group of his followers came to him and admitted that it was difficult for them to believe in the doctrine of the Holy Trinity.

St. Patrick reflected a moment and then, stooping down, he plucked a leaf from the shamrock and held it before them, bidding them to behold the living example of the “Three-in-One.” St. Patrick used the shamrock to explain the concept of the Holy Trinity of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. The simple beauty of this explanation convinced these skeptics, and from that day the shamrock has been revered throughout Ireland.

A four-leaf clover has always been considered a symbol of good luck in Irish culture. According to legend, the leaves of a four-leaf clover represent hope, faith, and love, and God added another leaf for luck.

St. Patrick chose the shamrock from Ireland’s greenest land to teach of Father, Son and Spirit so that we could understand. May you be blessed with all God’s gifts on St. Patrick’s Day and always.

Bible Verse: Psalm 19:1
The heavens are telling the glory of God;
and the firmament proclaims his handiwork.

Comments on: "The Legend of the Shamrock" (4)

  1. Dear Billie,
    That was the best explanation I have ever read. Despite being an English teacher, I had never found such a clear and to the point explanation like yours. If you don’t mind, I will show my students what you wrote, with the credits. I work at a school that gives importance to the culture of the language as well (no wonder its name is Cultura Inglesa!) Thank you for all the wonderful posts. Even tough I haven’t written so often, I do read all of them on the weekend. Reading your blog has become more than filling up my “spirital tank” – it has also become a place to search for culture, peace, guidance, encounter with myself, truths, fun, words of wisdom, …. and whatever I can think of! I thank God for you!
    Blessings,
    Karina de Cillo

    • Dear Karina:
      Your message touched my heart deeply. I’m so glad that you enjoy the things that I post. I often have nothing to say and it takes a lot of imagination to come up with something new. I’m glad that this helps you understand Saint Patrick’s Day and the legend of the shamrock. I am half Irish and it’s an important part of my heritage. I look forward to hearing what your students had to say about this. Thank you so much for your lovely post.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

  2. Anabella said:

    Dear Cherokee:
    Very cute your post, thanks for commenting about the life of this beloved saint in Ireland. Many young people do not know about it and just take advantage of the feast of saints to get drunk, I think that St. Patrick must be very angry at the sky because of this ^_^.
    St. Patrick also said to be very respectful of the beliefs of place. The nature (and its most immediate expression in plants and animals) was the subject of worship for the Celtic cultures and their priests, the Druids. They needed it to live (a society based on subsistence farming) and at the same time required a developed knowledge of it. The sun, which was sacred to the Celts, became a symbol of Jesus Christ (“We believe in the true Sun, Christ, and absolutely loved it”), the stone pillars scattered around the countryside, which gave the pagan religious significance, the Christianized crowning them with a cross, the visit to the old sacred sources, did not ban St. Patrick, but became baptisteries (for baptism by immersion), and so calling them holy continuóse.
    the people accepted with joy and almost naturally the supernatural message of Christianity. This singular fact is due to the austerity of life, fasting and mortification, the patent sincerity and obvious disinterest of Patrick and his companions, who impressed the people not only with words but with the move and decisive evidence of their practices.
    This is something I like about San Patricio, and wanted to share with you.

    This prayer is called the Breastplate of St. Patrick because it is in the spiritual that the pectorals, or placed on the chest armor of the warrior, intended to secure in the material.
    His final words are these:

    “Christ protect me today,
    Against poison and fire
    Against water, against injury,
    To receive the award.
    Christ with me Christ before me,
    Christ behind, Christ within me,
    Below Christ, Christ above,
    Christ on my right hand, Christ on my left,
    Christ in the fort,
    Christ guiding the carriage,
    Christ in the stern of the boat,
    Christ in the heart of every man who thinks of me,
    Christ in the mouth of every man who speaks of me,
    Christ in every eye that sees me,
    Christ in every ear that hears me.
    I force myself today with a strong bond
    The invocation of the Holy Trinity
    The faith of the Trinity in Unity
    The creator of all elements. ”

    It was very nice blog, I like the color pink, very pretty.
    Much love to all.
    Anabella

    • Dear Anabella:
      Wow! Thank you for sharing so much information about Saint Patrick. You provided information I did not know about. And it is good that people understand the significance of this celebration instead of just an opportunity to go out and get drunk. Thank you for the information about the protection of the breast plate. It is so good to hear from you again my friend.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud