Brings You Clarity With Psychic Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

Once again a lady who copes with this syndrome, Lene, has made a video about how she deals with Asperger syndrome. Please watch this video and post comments because this is so inspirational for those who deal with this condition.

Asperger’s syndrome, also called Asperger’s disorder, is a type ofpervasive development disorder (PDD). PDDs are a group of conditions that involve delays in the development of many basic skills, most notably the ability to socialize with others, to communicate, and to use imagination.

Although Asperger’s syndrome is similar in some ways to autism — another, more severe type of PDD — there are some important differences. Children with Asperger’s syndrome typically function better than do those with autism. In addition, children with Asperger’s syndrome generally have normal intelligence and near-normal language development, although they may develop problems communicating as they get older.

The symptoms of Asperger’s syndrome vary and can range from mild to severe. Common symptoms include:
• Problems with social skills: Children with Asperger’s syndrome generally have difficulty interacting with others and often are awkward in social situations. They generally do not make friends easily.
• Eccentric or repetitive behaviors:Children with this condition may develop odd, repetitive movements, such as hand wringing or finger twisting.
• Unusual preoccupations or rituals: A child with Asperger’s syndrome may develop rituals that he or she refuses to alter, such as getting dressed in a specific order.
• Communication difficulties: People with Asperger’s syndrome may not make eye contact when speaking with someone. They may have trouble using facial expressions and gestures, and understanding body language. They also tend to have problems understanding language in context.
• Limited range of interests: A child with Asperger’s syndrome may develop an intense, almost obsessive, interest in a few areas, such as sports schedules, weather, or maps.
• Coordination problems: The movements of children with Asperger’s syndrome may seem clumsy or awkward.
• Skilled or talented: Many children with Asperger’s syndrome are exceptionally talented or skilled in a particular area, such as music or math.

How Common Is Asperger’s Syndrome?

Asperger’s syndrome has only recently been recognized as a unique disorder. For that reason, the exact number of people with the disorder is unknown, although it is more common than autism. Estimates suggest Asperger’s syndrome affects from 0.024% to 0.36% of children. It is more common in males than in females, and usually is first diagnosed in children between the ages of 2 and 6 years.

Comments on: "Details on Asperger Syndrome – It Gets Better" (7)

  1. Mind if I correct you, Cherokee?? It’s not something we suffer from, as it’s not an illness….. 😛 but thanks for sharing!!

  2. Thanks Lene…. you are so articulate and beautifully spoken……..

    Mmmm I have the habit of researching a topic to death and then years later forget the details LOL….

    Light and Love Susanxoxoxo

  3. I AM SO PROUD OF YOU! Thanks for sharing this with the world.
    P.S. You speak very good English! 🙂
    Godspeed,
    N

  4. Fantastic job, Lene! I’m sure that what you are doing by making these videos and sharing with others about Asperger’s and your own journey will make differences in many lives. Your English, by the way, is very, very good. You mentioned Tourette Syndrome early in your video; this reminded me of James Durbin, a contestant on American Idol 2011. I don’t usually watch American Idol, but I did catch this young man and his story. He has Tourette’s and is such an inspiration to everyone. Here is a link to a brief article about him and includes his audition for American Idol…..which was
    acapella and quite impressive.

    http://www.autismkey.com/american-idol-frontrunner-has-tourette-syndrome-autism/

    Thank you again, Lene! I am looking forward to the next video!!!! 🙂 You are truly making a difference and changing the world one heart at a time!!!!
    with love,
    Anna

  5. Very interesting, Cherokee Billie! Thank you for sharing! And thank you Lene, for such a nice job!

    I have been reading a book, called “Dear John”, by Nicholas Sparks. I am not so fond of romances but since the book is in English and this is my instrument of work, I decided to read the book, while I am on a threadmill. As I went on the reading, I came to know of a character, who has Asperger syndrome.
    The book has turned out to be so interesting, because I could see myself in it and at times, recognize some of the signals in my husband, who lives in his own world, in a way of his own choosing. By that standard, most people could be said to have Asperger’s, I think…

    Thank you very much for sharing!
    Karina de Cillo

  6. Theresa Ziarnowski said:

    Thank you Lene for your first hand information regarding AspergersSyndrome.My nephew who is 8 yeatrs old was correctly diagnosed last year when he was in second grade.When Stephen was three years old his pediatrician had him on Ritalin that lasted for two months my sisterinlaw was soo upset because the side effects of the medication made him worse off the Ritalin my brother tried to keep Stephen away from sweetsand artificial colorings and processed foods and it helped but that is hard when your chid is only 3 years old. When my nephew was properly diagnosed last fall I was relieved.I looked up the symptoms on the internt and was astonished how the symptoms fit my nephew. the monotone voice lack of emotion unable to be in sports with other children it was very difficult for him but more difficult for my brother who wanted his son to play baseball and soccer. My brother got his son involved in cub scouts and my brother was also involved as a cub scout leader and my nephew is enjoying this and also making new friends and also learning things.His obsessions is anything Star Wars at this time.Thank you Cherokee Billie for bringing this information to you blog. First the doctors thought my nephew had Attentiondeficit disorder which as a nurse I knew that was not the issue.My son whenhe was in second grade his teacher also thought my son should see the school psycologist she thought he needed to be on Ritalin I said no and the next conference I went to the teacher stated she thought my son was immature.M y son now is a senior at Ramapo state colloge majoring inbusiness managementand minoring in Internationalbusiness and marketing. Achild in second grade can not sit in achair for soo many hours it is not normal they have soo much energy at that age especially boys! Thank you again Lene and Cherokee Billie for this information Love Terry Love and Light to everyone on this blog and Cerokee Billie I can see being protected by the angels especially Archangel Michael protecting you from Intruders at your apartment at all times

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud