Brings You Clarity With Psychic Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

My Favorite Poem

The Road Not Taken By Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I marked the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

This always moves me to tears. If you have a favorite poem please share it here. I would love to hear what others enjoy.

“When power leads man toward arrogance, poetry reminds him of his limitations. When power narrows the areas of man’s concern, poetry reminds him of the richness and diversity of his existence. When poetry corrupts, poetry cleanse, for art establishes the basic human truths, which must serve as the touchstone of our judgment.” John F. Kennedy

Comments on: "My Favorite Poem" (4)

  1. THE GUEST HOUSE
    This being human is a guest
    house.
    Every morning a new arrival.
    A joy, a depression, a
    meanness,
    some momentary awareness
    comes
    as an unexpected visitor.
    Welcome and entertain them
    all!
    Even if they’re a crowd of
    sorrows,
    who violently sweep your
    house
    empty of its furniture,
    still, treat each guest
    honorably.
    He may be clearing you out
    for some new delight.
    The dark thought, the shame,
    the malice,
    meet them at the door
    laughing,
    and invite them in.
    Be grateful for whoever
    comes,
    because each has been sent
    as a guide from beyond.
    By Rumi

    One of my favourite poems

    • WOW!
      What a fabulous Poem. I have never heard this one before and I’m going to add this to my collection. Thank you so much Tarryn for sharing this with me and everyone else. If
      many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

  2. Valerie Thorley said:

    Let me not live a life that’s free
    From the things that draw me close to Thee
    For how can I ever hope to heal
    The wounds of other’s I do not feel

    If my eyes are dry and I never weep
    How do I know when the hurt is deep
    If my heart is cold and it never bleeds
    How can I tell what my brother needs

    For when my ears are deaf to the beggar’s plea
    And we close our eyes and refuse to see
    And we steel our hearts and harden our mind
    And we count it a weakness whenever we’re kind

    We are no longer following the Father’s way
    Or seeking His guidance from day to day
    For, without ‘crosses to carry’ and ‘burdens to bear’
    We dance through a life that is frothy and fair

    And ‘chasing the rainbow’ we have no desire
    For ‘roads that are rough’ and ‘realms that are higher’
    So spare me no heartache or sorrow, dear Lord
    For the heart that is hurt reaps the richest reward

    And God enters the heart that is broken with sorrow
    And He opens the door to a brighter tomorrow
    For only through tears can we recognise
    The suffering that lies in another’s eyes

    Helen Steiner Rice

    • Dear Valerie:
      what a fabulous and powerful poem! I am so glad that you have shared this with us. It is only through our experiences can we obtain compassion for others. This poem says it best. Thank you so much for your comment.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud