Brings You Clarity With Psychic Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

Burned Biscuits


When I was a kid, my Mom liked to make breakfast food for dinner every now and then. And I remember one night in particular when she had made breakfast after a long, hard day at work. On that evening so long ago, my Mom placed a plate of eggs, sausage and extremely burned biscuits in front of my dad. I remember waiting to see if anyone noticed! Yet all my dad did was reach for his biscuit, smile at my Mom and ask me how my day was at school. I don’t remember what I told him that night, but I do remember watching him smear butter and jelly on that ugly burned biscuit. He ate every bite of that thing…. never made a face nor uttered a word about it!

When I got up from the table that evening, I remember hearing my Mom apologize to my dad for burning the biscuits. And I’ll never forget what he said: “Honey, I love burned biscuits every now and then.”

Later that night, I went to kiss Daddy good night and I asked him if he really liked his biscuits burned. He wrapped me in his arms and said, “Your Momma put in a hard day at work today and she’s real tired. And besides – a little burned biscuit never hurt anyone!”

As I’ve grown older, I’ve thought about that many times. Life is full of imperfect things and imperfect people. I’m not the best at hardly anything, and I forget birthdays and anniversaries just like everyone else.

But what I’ve learned over the years is that learning to accept each others’ faults and choosing to celebrate each others differences – is one of the most important keys to creating a healthy, growing, and lasting relationship.

And that’s my prayer for you today… that you will learn to take the good, the bad, and the ugly parts of your life and lay them at the feet of God. Because in the end, He’s the only One who will be able to give you a relationship where a burnt biscuit isn’t a deal-breaker!

We could extend this to any relationship. In fact, understanding is the base of any relationship, be it a husband-wife or parent-child or friendship!

“Don’t put the key to your happiness in someone else’s pocket – keep it in your own.”

So, please pass me a biscuit, and yes, the burned one will do just fine.

Comments on: "Burned Biscuits" (10)

  1. Catarina said:

    Thank you for this post Cherokee Billie. I have been feeling like I have been burning a lot of biscuits lately and this post was just the remedy I needed to encourage me this morning! BTW- I’m having coffee with my burnt biscuits this morning! Have a lovely day Cherokee Billie. xo Catarina

    • I am so glad that this was the reminder you needed Catarina! It’s OK to make mistakes and burn things in our lives. Most things that we feel are terrible are really not that important. I learned this lesson a long time ago. It was not easy to learn it. Thank you for your post.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

  2. Tarryn said:

    Thats such a lovely story and lesson. Thank you for sharing it.

    • I always appreciate your comment Tarryn. I wish I could go back to these moments in time when my parents were still here. I appreciate your comment.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

  3. Thank you so much for sharing!! Your words have brought a touch of reality back into my life. We seem to get lost in the hustle and bustle of every day life, that we forget the things of most importance.
    God Bless!

    • Dear Adria:
      welcome to my blog! I’m so glad that this little story touched your heart and brought you back into reality. It’s easy to lose sight of what is really important. Thank you so much for your comment.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

  4. Thanks Cherokee……Very true …….. BTW I love breakfasts for dinner on a Sunday night, eggs, bacon (mmm) 😉

    Light and Love to everyone………Susanxoxo

    • Dear Susan:
      good to hear from you again. I agree I enjoy breakfast for dinner and miss those times with my family. Thanks for your comment.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

  5. Dear Cherokee Billie, this post was all I needed to soothe my soul from the bad happenings these past days. Every family has problems and you well said, no one is perfect. But by reading this account, I felt humble by the grace of God. And less demanding, as well. Family issues haven’t been so easy to handle, but I should not expect people to be better unless I myself decide to be better. Accepting the burnt biscuits dear people give me is the best way to be humble. Thank you again for reminding me of such great and essential truth, that I sometimes forget to remember.

    Love and best wishes,
    Karina de Cillo

    • Dear Karina:
      Nobody is perfect and that is why we need to accept people even with their imperfections. You are a blessing to many people and I know that many read your comments here and always feel uplifted from what you have to say. I know that I do.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud