Brings You Clarity With Spiritual Phone Readings, Spiritual Classes, eBooks

John Lennon

John Lennon


December 8 marks 29 years since an assassin gunned down John Lennon as he was entering his apartment building, the Dakota, in New York City. He was not using drugs or doing anything dangerous, just going home after work with his wife to their child. He was only 40 years old. He is the first celebrity to be assassinated.

I fell in love with John Lennon, the artist, in 1964 when I was thirteen years old and saw the Beatles live at the Hollywood Bowl. None of the other Beatles held the attraction for me that John did. And as time went on the songs he wrote proved when a remarkable talent this man had along with an incredible wit.

Lennon revealed a rebellious nature and biting wit in his music, on film, in books, and at press conferences and interviews. He was controversial through his work as a peace activist and visual artist. After The Beatles, Lennon enjoyed a successful solo career with such acclaimed albums as John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band and Imagine and iconic songs such as “Give Peace a Chance” and “Imagine”.After a self-imposed “retirement” to raise his son Sean, Lennon reemerged with a comeback album, Double Fantasy. The album would go on to win the 1981 Grammy Award for Album of the Year.

John was noted for his antiwar peace demonstrations. It’s so ironic that a man of peace died needlessly from such a violent act. In John’s own words, “All We Are Saying Is Give Peace A Chance.”

Let us never forget this wonderful man. I love you John.

“In My Life” by John Lennon and Paul McCartney

There are places I remember
All my life, though some have changed
Some forever not for better
Some have gone and some remain
All these places had their moments
With lovers and friends
I still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life I’ve loved them all

But of all these friends and lovers
there is no one compares with you
And these memories lose their meaning
When I think of love as something new
Though I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them
In my life I love you more

Though I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them
In my life I love you more
In my life I love you more
[

Comments on: "Anniversary of the Assassination of John Lennon" (89)

  1. He will never be forgotten! He was “too big” man and artist to be forgotten. He wasn’t just one in a crowd. He had that smashing Factor X. I respect him and “feel” his songs, and I wasn’t even born when he was killed.

    Kiss, Annie 🙂

    • Thanks Annie :
      he definitely was larger than life. I consider myself fortunate to have lived through Beatlemania and experienced everything that happened in the wonderful fantastic 60’s.
      Thank you so much for your comment.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

      • Hi Everyone,

        OMG Cherokee, this is Jamie, I had you speak with my decease father a couple of months ago.. I spoke with him yesterday, He recalls you connecting with him on my behalf. I just wanted to drop you a note to say I apologize if in any way you thought i doubted your gift. My father confirm you really connect with the other side

        Much Light and love
        Jamie

  2. Dear Cherokee Billie, what a beautiful tribute to John Lennon. I loved the Beatles, and I loved John; he was my favorite. I didn’t have the fortune to see them perform in person, but I saw them on T.V. every chance I got. I saw them on the Ed Sullivan Show, and I saw their movies…I especially remember getting so excited about going to see “Help” with one of my friends. We all enjoyed listening to their music. It is so funny now to look back and remember what our parents would say about the British Invasion…long hair and everything…so funny. 🙂

    I was so sad when this happened to John…..senseless violence,,,but when does violence ever make sense?? Again, thank you for sharing about John and the Beatles; it has brought back a lot of fun memories. I still love their music. I have many favorites, and one of my all time favorites is “Imagine.” I just absolutely love it. My daughter made a cd for me several years ago of songs that she thought that I would like. The first one is “Imagine” because she knew of my love for the Beatles and of John. Love you, John. I’m looking forward to meeting you one day.

    Many blessings to you all,
    Anna

    • Dear Anna:
      so true about senseless violence. I’m glad to know another person who was around when the Beatles were a happening. It was a time that will never be duplicated and I’m thankful I was there.
      Thanks for the video you shared as well.
      Why I put up the one about in my life is because it talks about all the people that we have lost and that we still love even though they are not in our life, just like John.
      many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

      • Dear Cherokee Billie, I grew up during the 60s, too, in the southern part of the U.S. I graduated from high school in 1971. When I watched the video that you posted, many, many memories came flooding back. John, thank you for the beautiful music that you shared with us. Love to you.
        Thank you again, Cherokee Billie, for sharing with us. As I’ve said before, I always receive a blessing when I visit this place.

        Love to you,
        Anna

  3. What a HUGE talent! I love the song “In my Life” but my favourite ones of his solo are , “Watching The Wheels” ,”Dream#9″ and “(Just Like) Starting Over”

    • dear Tarryn:
      John wrote so many wonderful songs and I love the ones that you mentioned as well. There’s a little song he wrote when he was with the Beatles called “Julia” that was about his mother and I love it very much.
      thanks for remembering John and sharing what you love about Him.
      many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

      • Thank you Cherokee, thats so true he did write so many wonderful songs. I dont think I have ever heard this song about his mom, I’ll give it a listen, so thanks for mentioning it. One of my other favourites of his that he wrote with the Beatles is “Across The Universe” I just Love it.

        One quick correction the song I mentioned in my first post is called “#9 Dream”

  4. Dear Cherokee Billie,

    Thanks for reminding us of such a wonderful person. Who can forget that tragic day and the cruel senselessness?

    I remember being 7 or 8 years old and listening to ‘I Wanna Hold Your Hand’ when the Beatles were just becoming huge in America. My older female cousins just went crazy for them. My sisters and I would play ‘Yesterday’ on my grandmother’s organ.

    I too always think how great it was to grow up during the ’60’s. I miss those days, life was so different then, so simple and carefree or so it seemed from my child’s eye.

    Thank again, I always appreciate a poke in the memory bank that can take me back there.

    Have a wonderful day today!

    Lynne

    • Dear Lynne:
      it was so wonderful time to be alive and a Beatlemaniac. Thanks for sharing your memories about listening to their songs and what you felt. The 60’s was definitely a wonderful And carefree time to be alive. we’re fortunate to have been there.
      many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

  5. My father is still big fan of The Beatles. He probably has all vinyl records and compact discs of them, and many other musicians of the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s. I was raised in the 80’s with sound of The Beatles, Janis Joplin, The Mamas and The Pappas, The Hair, Frank Sinatra, Chuck Berry, Little Richard, Queen and the other wonderful musicians! My parents told me many interesting stories about that time and funny anecdotes connected to these musicians. I probably know every single song of them! 🙂 I’m, personaly, a big fan of the 80’s, wich is, in my opinion, fabulous era for the music (disco music 🙂 )! 90’s, again in my opinion, were cheaper sound of the 80’s, with few exceptions, and 2K – very solid, I like it!

    So, we still can hear music of The Beatles and wonderful John Lennon. They became an Icon of their time and an Evergreen band. They will live forever. 🙂

    Kiss Annie

    • Dear Annie:
      your father’s sounds like he was from my generation. He’s a true lover if he still keeps his vinyl records. Why I’ve put up this reminder is so many people will forget that December 8 John was killed. I feel that the world needs to remember because he brought so much to us.
      Thank you so much for your comment.
      many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

      • Yes dear Cherokee he is, he was born in 50’s.

        Believe it or not, last night I was looking at some new CD-s he bought on his buisness trip in Barcelona, Spain (he always buy some new CD-s when he is traveling), there was Leonard Cohen, Bob Dylan, Black Sabbath and The Doors – The Very Best Of. I asked him why did he buy the greatest hits of The Doors, because I have double edition of their greatest hits and I could borrow him when he wants to listen them, and he just mumble something that he didn’t know… (I think that he wants to have his own sample 😉 ), hehehe… my dad! 🙂 So what I want to said in the begining was, my boyfriend asked him, after our conversation, is there any CD that he doesn’t have and he would like to have and my dad said yes! I would love to have The Beatles – White Album, I don’t have it on compact disc! So, as you can see, The Beatles will always be wanted. There are many “parents” who will introduce their children to the great kind of music, and many of them will continue listening, maybe not with passion like You all did who had a chance to live in that “careless, flower” time, but they will countinue entertain number of them. And I forget to say that my dad’s favorite Beatle was John, and thanks to him, and my mother also, I heard a lot about John and his doom when I was a little girl. There are also a music encyclopedias, so I think that there is no chance that any of the greatest artist/musician will be forgotten, and also, now we have internet wich is a great archive. I’m sure that they will live forever through their music and fans – the old one and new one. 🙂

        About vinyls, yes my father have plenty of them and sound of vinyl can’t be replaced with sound of CD. CD have perfect sound, but Vinyl have “a soul”. I’m also very happy because in father’s archive I found a vinyl of Michael’s “Thriller” (woohoo) hehehe :)!

        Kisses, Annie

  6. Cherokee Billie,

    did you ever had a chance to channel John Lennon? (I’m sorry if this question is too intimate or private, I didn’t mean to be rude, I’m just curious – my nature 🙂 )

    Kiss, Annie

    • Dear Annie:
      the other day I was doing a reading for a lady and channeling her grandmother and John Lennon came into the reading with a message. It was very powerful. I have never sat down and tried to channel him. I seem to always get messages best what I’m doing the work for someone else.
      Thanks for your comment.
      many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

      • Gisela(Venezuela) said:

        Cherokee.
        I think.. John and Michael get someway easy connected to you for the same reason… you have that open minded soul and heart.. I think that makes the difference.. in both innitialy cases they came to you quite easy.. with Michael you looked to channel him for the first time for that programm and in the case of John.. he just came to you during other reading..
        they both might find you a secure and great connection..
        May God keep giving the blessing of your abbility…

      • I agree with Gisela. You are a very special and gifted soul, Cherokee Billie. You’ve shown us all so much love, I can only imagine what you give beyond this blog. Im sure great souls like Michael, John and Jim are attracted to you for that reason. I admire you, CB.

        Much Love,
        Lauren

  7. ♥ Julie ♥ said:

    John Lennon, hat a wonderful, talented man! His message was love… peace and love. ♥

    Thank you for this post today Cherokee Billie.
    Love to all,
    Julie ♥

  8. Dear Cherokee Billie,

    I understand how you feel. “In my life” is one of my favorite all time songs also.
    To me December 8th is a day I dislike a lot, not only because it was day John Lennon was assasinated, which was a real shock to me also, but also on that day a few years later my grandmother died and a few years after that on Dec 8th my best friend died suddenly.
    It’s odd when people start passing over on the same date, I mean you start dreading that day of the year coming along.

    love
    Sasa

  9. Ana Maria said:

    Hi!
    John Lennon is a very special person to me.
    I never knew who he was, but when i listened to his music, i fell in love with his voice.
    We miss him very much.
    His music will never die!.

    Peace and Love,
    Ana Maria

  10. Yes, John Lennon has always been my favourite Beatle “In My Life” is one of my favourite Beatle songs too 🙂 I was really into JL when I was about 20 and spent a whole entire year studying JL, reading lots of books and listening to Beatle and John Lennon music and trying to figure out why he was murdered etc and feeling very sad the world lost a great talent.
    Thanks Cherokee for this post 🙂

    Love and Light everyonexxxxxx

  11. the world could never forget the light of John Lennon, and yes how ironic that he would die that way.
    but his message of peace lives on in ourt hearts.

    thanks for posting the video and reminding us all of his life.

  12. Dear Cherokee Billie,
    THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting this, I havent been here for a while, and look whos gazing at me from your blog when I stop by for a visit – my HERO. The end of Nov start of Dec is hard for me – the anniversaries of Freddie Mercury, George Harrison and John are all very close together, all three men are heroes of mine and i admire their qualities and music deeply.

    I wasnt alive when John was, but he has been a part of my life for the last 15 years – to the point of talking about him in the 1st person and almost knowing his every move from reading almost every book about him and studying almost every interview!!

    He was a true inspiration – I love him “post Yoko” – a lot of Beatle fans dont love Yoko but I do. In her own way she taught John some values that he took on board and became a pioneer – he became one of the worlds first famouse house husbands, he added feminist lyrics to his songs and took a lot of his anger and channelled or directed it to political movements and causes that he cared about. He realsied he made mistakes with his first marriage and took steps to rectify them with his second. He was robbed 29 years ago of re-establishing his relationship with Julian properly. They were working on it – and then the oppertunity was gone.

    He still did some things that are questionable, but we are all human and we learn from these angels that God sends us.

    I truely beleive that he had a devine purpose but did’nt realise it. And that includes his death. It all happened for a reason – he believed that there were no such things as accidents. We need to learn from his success, his mistakes; his life, his death. We still talk about him, his status is legendary and he is inspiring generations.

    I love you John, I feel you everyday, and love how you’re on my shoulder for the rest of my life (that goes for you too Freddie, Michael you’re next!!) Please keep holding my hand, need you more than ever.

    Thank you Cherokee,
    Love
    Viki

    • Dear Vikki:
      I’m so glad you feel about John like I do. He was so talented and dedicated to whenever he believed in. I agree that Yoko taught him many things about life and she got him into spirituality. I feel we should never forget the contribution that this remarkable man made to our world. It’s hard to believe that he would be 69 years old now. He will always be eternally young.
      I have enclosed a video that is an interesting compilation of interviews with John. Enjoy.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

      • Dear Cherokee Billie,
        thank you so much for posting the video, and for sharing your thoughts on Yoko!
        I hope that you are keepinmg in good health!
        Love
        Viki

  13. Hi family! Hope you all are feeling good today 🙂

    Dear Cherokee, I’ve always liked a lot The Beatles and specially John Lennon. I feel like he was / is a different spirit that came to Earth with the mission to talk about peace, to try to change people’s minds about wars.. I believe the hippies fought for this as well, but it was Lennon who had the strongest message: we should all get together, love each other and live in peace.

    His song Imagine has inspired many, including me.. It’s unbelievable the way he was killed.. But everything has a reason, maybe we don’t understand, but it had to be.. It’s great to know you had the oportunity to channel him ^_^

    Oh, this song you posted is really beautiful, I didn’t know this one (laughs).

    I had forgotten that yesterday was John Lennon’s anniversary of death, but coincidentally (or maybe not) yesterday I was shopping for Christmas and bought to myself a DVD that brings one of the last shows of The Beatles, in Japan. It’s simply amazing, they were so great!!

    All we need is love!!

    Big hug to all 😉

  14. Dear Cherokee Billie,

    It has been good to basically stop a lot of interchange
    for the “inside job” I am on now but I can not go without
    thanks to you for bringing John Lennon to our attention.
    My grandmother and I did crosswords on her last couple of days here in the hospital and she looked at me with her mischeivious eye wth the clue…Yoko…Ono..Christmas 2000.
    He was so much a part of this kind of connecting and it so
    parallels what is going on with Michael Jackson…
    Everything is both different and the same..just when each soul is ready they hear their piece of the puzzle for that time.
    Thank God we had some real true gems here in our time that keep on giving..It has been good to “shut up” mostly and read a lot of your things in conjunction with my private
    journey…many, many answers just in your writings and
    sharings on this blog…I love you and everyone here so much…and my tricky, tricky, familiy…”All you need is LOVE”…
    it is that simple, that hard, that profound, that easy, depending on the situation…thank you Cherokee Billie and all blog friends for sharing so much love with me….
    Sarah

    • Dear Cherokee,

      Again I thank you for keeping John Lennon’s gifts real for us..I was informed of his fate with my creative writing class in college and was born 10/59 and remember hearing Beattles all the time, of course deeper impact
      for all sisters and brothers 10 years ahead of me..that
      AM we all just said some heart things to each other and the great professor just had us go home after that..just too, too much…the gifts of his soul and music grew of course ten times more then for my group. That morning, 12/8..and on the season when we truly are focusing on love; all people with heart were given deep pause for reflection…thank you again…it is so important and connected to the great healing of Love and Spirit…take heart in being honored as a young woman of that time…
      your work is being blessed I know…Sarah

  15. My dear friends

    This doesn’t have anything with this subject, but I want to ask you something. Next monday I have last exam on my university, for three years I agonize with this exam (it is my fault, when I start to work six years ago I put my college on the second place, at that time I had 15 exams and I pass all of them in next three years except this one, for another long three years this one is still here). If I pass this exam I will finaly have my college diploma after three long years ( 😀 ) and I will remove “this big stone of my back”. I can’t explain you how much this tortue me, every day. I really want to finaly finish this part of my life, I can’t move any further, I had to reject one perfect job opportunity because I didn’t finish my college :(, and I know that this is my fault. But with time I made a blockade in my head. Can you please somehow help me that this week (my boss gave me free week to learn) I have enough….. something, anything….. that this “thing” which I try to learn stay in my head, and I finaly learn something for this exam, and that I have enough fortune in monday to know the answers. Can you please “be with me”. I need some positive energy. I know that this is much, and I know that to you this maybe doesn’t seem as a big problem, but for me is a Sisyphus job.

    Thank you, love Annie

    • Annie, I understand. My youngest daughter is in college; my oldest daughter is getting ready to take an exam in December for graduate school. I was a teacher for 26 years. You will be in my prayers specifically to give you focus as you prepare, memory, knowledge and the application of that knowledge, clarity of thought and problem solving, and, last, but not least, confidence in yourself. Remember that you are loved and supported. I will be praying for your success. Believe in yourself as you prepare. 🙂

      Keeping you in my prayers,
      Anna

      • Thank You Anna very much! 🙂

        That’s all I need! Good preparation, good memory and great knowledge in Monday. But first I need good concentration for reading and learning this material. Subject is totally uninteresting to me :(.

        Thank you for your kind words, they are inspiration! I know you understand me because you were a teacher! hehe, you probably had a lot of sluggards like me ;)! Thank you for your prayers, I need something “from above” to help me learn for this exam (I already have physical reaction when I thought of it, not exam – when I thought on material for it). I’m sure that your oldest daughter will be much more responsible than I was. I wish her luck on her exam! 🙂

        Love, Annie 🙂

    • Dear Annie: I understand you a lot!!!, I hate exams :), it’s make me soooo nervous… but here I am, with you through the distance, I send you all the positive energy and I’ll pray for you too. Let’s ask God sends you angels that special day.

      • Thank you Ana! 🙂

        Oh, girls you are too good to be true! 🙂 I still can’t believe that I found this special place! I really feel blessed! I will really give my best to solve this exam. I think that I’ll be really ashamed if I fail. Reason more why I have to solve this “problem”! 😉

        Thank you, You are all very inspiring! 😉

        Scientia potestas est!

        Love, Annie 🙂

    • What is the subject the test is in? I assume you are not in the U.S., and I’m unfamiliar with the university systems in other countries.

      Over the years, I have taken many courses and tests that were not interesting to me. In fact, throughout my entire college, grad school, post grad and teaching career…I probably really was trully interested in maybe 10. What kept me motivated and going was always my goal. I have taught subjects that I did not like or did not feel adequate to teach, but try to keep that focus of your goal…you are almost finished!! Yeah!!

      You may have some gnashing of teeth and snarling and screaming moments, but, you know, if that helps to get you through…as you study, of course, not during the test…not a good idea…then do it.

      I know it is easy for me to sit here and give you this advice. I don’t know your situation, but all you can do is your best. When you do your best and give it your best try, well, that’s all you can do. Remember that you’ve got many people pulling for you.

      Will keep you in my prayers,
      Anna H.

      • Dear Anna!

        Course is called Ethics in Journalism, but it doesn’t have anything in common with the name, believe me. It is philosophy! I have to read books of Jaspers, Levy, Singer, Jonas, Habermas, Sen and Comte-Sponville. They are all philosophers, and I don’t like them at all. 😀

        I don’t know how is it in the USA, but our professors can choose if they want to examine students in discus or in writting. And he (my professor) choose in writting, but it is logical that this kind of material is something for discussion! In our writting exams we don’t have offered answers to round off, we have to write, something like essays. Questions are very heavy and particular. And professor is very demanding.

        You are right, I will think on my goal – my diploma 🙂 !

        Hehe, you are funny, screaming during the test 😀 😀 😀 !

        And also, I have to add, our schooling is a different then yours (US). We have elementary school – eight years, then we choose (hm… choose… it depends on grades in elementary school who can choose 🙂 ) in which high school we want to go (for another four years). If somebody wants to go on college after high school, the best school is a gymnasium – a type of school providing secondary education in some parts of Europe. We also have high schools for craftsmen, for personal services, for nurses… etc. Then we (not everybody) go to college – four years (for doctors six years), and then if somebody wants master degree goes to college two more years, and final degree is doctorate – you don’t go to school, you have to earn it in some other ways. Here in Europe we have colleges for particular professions. Different way of schooling, if you want to be a doctor you go to medical college, if you want to be a lawyer you go to law college. We don’t have something like, for example, Harvard or Yale. I don’t know how to explain it. On Harward you can become a doctor, a lawyer…, but here you choose college depending on your interest. On one college is offered only one profession.

        When we go to college we have a lessons for four years. On every year of college we can go on exams whole year, we have dates when is which exam through year. Every year of college have about 15 courses, which we have to solve before next year of college begin. We don’t have final exams like you do. When we are finished with our lessons on college (after four years), we became graduates and have to solve about 15 more exams, which we can solve right away, or next year, or after two years,….. or never 😀 ! It depends on you, do you want your college diploma or not and how badly do you want it.

        Well, I hope you understood me! 🙂 Bad english, I know! hehe 😉

        I’m very thankful for every good thought, positive vibration and prayer. Just thinking of you beautiful people give me strenght and obligation to give my best and learn and learn and learn and pass!

        And of course Mike, you are also welcome to stop by and give me some positive vibration! 😉

        Thank you, thank you, thank you!

        Love, Annie 🙂

      • Annie, thank you for the explanation. Your English is very good. I knew that the educational system in Europe was different but did not know all of the info you gave me.

        Happy studying….and good luck!! 🙂
        Anna

      • Anna,

        I’m a journalist/writter/reporter (not yet with degree, but I am 😉 ), and I like writting, talking, explaining, helping, entertaining…. so I did my best to introduce you with other side of the world 😉 hehehe! I’m sorry if this was too long explanation, but I tried to give you the best picture of it. (I did it because, when I want to know about something I reserch it in detail, so…) 😉 I know that this isn’t the most interesting subject, but I had an inspiration moment! 🙂 hehe

        Kisses, love Annie 😉

    • Annie..Sending positive exam energy your way (whoosh) 🙂 Light and Love Susanxxx

      • Thank you Susan!

        I appreciate that and it means a lot to me!

        Huh! Now I really have a very big obligation to you people! Now I really have to pass it! 🙂 I’ll do my best!

        Thank you, you’re really pushing me further! You’re the best!

        I love you very much!

        (I still can’t believe that this wonderful community exist! Someone please pinch me!!!!)

        Kisses, Annie 🙂

    • Annie-
      God bless you on your exams! You will be fine!

      Godspeed,
      N

      • Thank you N! 🙂

        It means a lot too me, You were all in my prayers last night! 😉

        “If you help yourself, God will help you too”

        Love, Annie 🙂

    • Dear Annie, I’ll be sending good vibrations and have you in my prayers! Believe and put this on God’s hands, you’re gonna make it!

      Love,
      Mayra

      • Thanx Mayra! 🙂

        All your good wishes are precious to me and also very helpful. They give me motivation!

        Thank you!

        Love, Annie 🙂

        (P.S. I have to appologize to you Cherokee Billie for using your blog and your space for private matters, I feel a bit embarrassingly, but you are all here so supportive and persuasive, thank you 🙂 )

  16. Thank you Cherokee for this. It is very sad about John Lennon. He Was a good guy because he cared very much about the people and the world. In this video they mentioned Ghandi fight for peace in a non violent way. I remember Michael Jackson mentioned him also, he admired Ghandi. Make love not war. Beautiful PEACE 😛

    • Gisela(Venezuela) said:

      Hello Everyone…
      well this was a great post about John Lennon…I cand remember him as part of the Beatles….and then in his solo carrier..
      he was such an amazing musician.. and songwriter….
      there are things that make me think…
      it was a pitty he was killed.. he was giving the world so many incredible messages…

      he was definitely ..unique…
      May he rest in peace..
      I am sure Michael and John are having a great chat….
      Make Love not War….
      Give Peace a chance….

      • Gisela(Venezuela) said:

        lol I will discover myself… : its just a little note .. but the people my age will remember this : I used to work for the airline that took The Beatles to America: PanAm… lol
        all this brought so many memories… my earlier days.. when I started my first job at PA…OMG……….. sigh…

  17. Just watched these couple of videos posted and It seems a lot of Parallels are taking place decade after decade with the same messages desperate to be heard from very great people…Love & Peace, Global & Humanitarian.
    I wonder why humanity is taking so long to hear the messages and why eyes continue to be closed to it all…I think the collective uncertainty of 2012 is perfectly planned by the divine to wake us up and encourage us all to strive for higher consciousness.

    Love & Light x

  18. Here are some words by John Lennon that I found online.

    ——————————————————————————–

    It matters not
    who you love,
    where you love,
    why you love,
    when you love,
    or how you love,
    It matters only
    that You love.

    John Lennon

    English Singer, Songwriter, Artist and Peace Activist

  19. All You Need Is Love
    The Beatles

    Lennon/McCartney

    From The Blue Album

    Love, love, love, love, love, love, love, love, love.
    There’s nothing you can do that can’t be done.
    Nothing you can sing that can’t be sung.
    Nothing you can say but you can learn how to play the game
    It’s easy.
    There’s nothing you can make that can’t be made.
    No one you can save that can’t be saved.
    Nothing you can do but you can learn how to be you
    in time – It’s easy.

    All you need is love, all you need is love,
    All you need is love, love, love is all you need.
    Love, love, love, love, love, love, love, love, love.
    All you need is love, all you need is love,
    All you need is love, love, love is all you need.
    There’s nothing you can know that isn’t known.
    Nothing you can see that isn’t shown.
    Nowhere you can be that isn’t where you’re meant to be.
    It’s easy.
    All you need is love, all you need is love,
    All you need is love, love, love is all you need.
    All you need is love (all together now)
    All you need is love (everybody)
    All you need is love, love, love is all you need.

    ————————————————————————–
    I loved hearing this song. “All you need is love”
    Those words speak total truth.

    Lennon wrote this but for some reason it is credited Lennon/McCartney.
    John Lennon was magnificent. A great musician and songwriter. We shall never forget you John Lennon.

    Love to All,
    Mary Ann

  20. I just found this video, and I must share. It takes me back to my jr. high school days so long ago. I remember dancing and singing along to this song so many times. John, Paul, Ringo, and George were such cuties!! Good and happy memories. Thank you, John. Love you!!

  21. This gave me chills to read. I love their music but was never a fan since it is generations before my time. But I saw a retrospective of his artwork and I really felt like I got to know his soul. When he married, Yoko gave him sketch pads for a wedding gift and asked him to draw their life together. It is totally amazing. What a gifted soul.

    • Dear Tricia:
      thank you for sharing that story about the gift Yoko gave John when they got married. They were both extremely spiritual people and it shows in his work and in Yokos. I think it was beautiful the way she handled John’s death. She had him cremated and the ashes spread and has never told anyone where that is. The reason is he should live in our hearts and he was returned to mother earth.
      Many blessing,
      Cherokee Billie

  22. Hi Billie,

    Wow…I am amazed sometimes at the journey sometimes. I was thinking of you and the turns in my life, the words you have said to me. This is a beautiful tribute to a man who wrote of peace and love and died in violence. We learn through the tragic events of this life, eh?

    Your friend,

    Susan

    • dear Susan:
      I was very surprised to see you respond here on my blog. It’s been over a year since I’ve spoken to you. I’m glad that my messages here have been inspirational to you. I often think of you and wonder how you’re doing. Thanks to you I’m able to channel the deceased very easily for people. I thank you for that.
      John was definitely a wonderful man of peace and love who died needlessly by a lunatic. I do not see where the world has learned much since his death, there are more killings than ever. All I can say is pray for this world .
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

      • Billie…I know it’s been a long time since we spoke, however I think of you often and our conversations were a turning point in my life.
        You touch many lives, give hope and understanding in a era that we are searching for answers. Thank you for touching my life.

        Susan

  23. Jennifer Rose said:

    Praying for you on your exams!
    I’m about to take my own before I head off to my new university this winter:)!
    I love you and I’m praying for you k? I know this may sound weird coming from someone my age(20) but just keep your head up high and pray :hug:

    God Bless+take care!
    :::::::HUG:::::::
    ~Jen

  24. Anastasia said:

    Hey all,

    Even though The Beatles were before my time, I think they were one of the most memorable groups in music history. I have the upmost respect for their work. John Lennon’s death was a senseless tragedy. Unfortunately he became an example, but if you look at today’s world, you will see this kind of thing happening more and more. We need to start thinking for ourselves and wake up and realize what we’re doing to this world. This kind of senseless killing is not so uncommon anymore. I’m not sure it ever was, but now it’s far worse than ever. Cherokee Billie makes a very valid point here. We need to listen.

    Sincerely,

    Anastasia

    • Dear Anastasia:
      I agree there is more senseless killing than ever. What set John Lennon’s Death apart from so many was that he was the first celebrity to be assassinated. Prior to that it had been political, Royal or military people that were assassinated. this is why we need to pray and be a part of the change in this world. Thank you so much for your comment.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

  25. I understand your need to communicate with one another, but please add something about John Lennon on this post. This was a special man And we should pay tribute to all that he offered us in this life. Remember he changed the world and that should never be forgotten.

    thank you,
    Cherokee Billie

    • Oops, now I feel ashamed. I’m sorry, I apologize again Cherokee. 🙂

      I already said in the post somewhere above that I’m a big admirer of John Lennon. I respect him as a man, as an artist and as an Icon. His messages was and still are very strong and clear, and songs gladly heard. He was charismatic and to Big to be forgotten. He made a big impact on me (thanx to my parents), and I wasn’t even born when he was murdered. One of my favorite Christmas song is Happy Christmas (War is Over). 🙂

      Kiss, Annie

      • Dear Annie:
        no need to apologize, I just wanted to make it clear that this post is for John Lennon. Someone new coming onto the blog might get confused by the messages about schooling. I don’t mind everyone interacting, this is just a very special sacred and solemn moment in history that I am writing about that many people may not know because they were not even born when this happened. My goal is to enlighten people.
        Don’t worry about upsetting me, I am not. You are still loved.
        Many blessings,
        Cherokee Billie

    • Dear Cherokee,

      I feel real bad now, I would like to ask you one more thing. Can you please remove complete thread I began to write and start with “My dear friends”, please. You would do me a big favor. Thank you.

      I know that you are not upset, but it wasn’t time or place to share my personal matters. Bad timing. I realize that this isn’t forum, it is your blog and I switch subject to something else. I said somewhere here before that I usually don’t become member of internet groups or forums, so I felt to relaxed in here and I overdid and forget that anyone can step by and like you said get confused by some comments. I feel real bad and only I can say is that I needed some comfort and I get it more than I could ever expect. Thank you again all good people in here.

      Kiss Annie

  26. To All:

    We all know that John was a musical genius. He was also a creative genius with art-drawings, paintings…writing.

    Speaking of writing, I just purchased online John’s book “In His Own Write”, which was published in 1964.
    I can’t wait to get it.

    I read “In His Own Write” was followed by “A Spaniard in the Work.” A Spaniard was published in 1965.

    The Beatles will always have a special place in my heart.
    YEAH, YEAH, YEAH, YEAH!

    Love,
    Mary ANN

    • dear Mary Ann :
      I still have my original book from 1964 of “in his own write” as well as my original “A Spaniard in the works.”
      I still have memorized many of the poems, my girlfriend that I have known since we were twelve years old and went to the first Beatle concerts together, we often recite them back and forth to one another. John had a wicked sense of humor and you will enjoy it.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

      • “I sat belonely down a tree ,humble ,fat and small,a little lady sing to me I could not see at all
        I’m looking up and at the sky to find such wondrous voice,
        Humbly humble
        wonder why I see but have no choice.”
        I love the poems and short stories John wrote in “In His Own Write”.He was an amazing talent. Though he never knew me ,he got me.His wit was very “cheeky”and I got him. I adored him.His music ,his wit ,his life.
        John lived what he preached.Even his death cried out, “All we are saying is give peace a chance”.
        Fitting that he died on the 8th ;for 8 is Gods number of completeness.
        I will miss you till we meet again John.
        Thank you Billie, for paying tribute to John and helping us always to remember what is right and good and important. God bless you .Much love,Pam

  27. Jim Morrison was born December 08, 1943! Happy birthday Jim!
    I thought some of you might like to know this little bit of trivia. Jim Morrison has been a spirit guide of mine since 1984. I do receive messages from him, but it’s not like channeled messages. For a man who died at 27, he wrote hundreds of songs and for books of poetry. Along with many unpublished works. He accomplished so much for the short time he was here.
    In his own words, “I see myself as a huge fiery comet, a shooting star. Everyone stops, points up and gasps, “Oh look at that!” Then- whoosh, and I’m gone…and they’ll never see anything like it ever again… and they won’t be able to forget me- ever.”
    No one will ever forget the Lizard King.
    You can only imagine the wonderful poems and songs that John and Jim are making together.

    • Jim Morrison was a great artist and very sensitive person.. I admire him very much, too. Both, him and John Lennon left big marks on our world and I believe they still keep doing beautiful music in the spirit world 🙂

      Thank you for sharing this information, dear Cherokee! I didn’t know it was Jim’s birthday! Well, happy birthday to him!! He’s one of your guides? Wow, that’s amazing!

      PS: Hope you’re doing fine! Is your health Ok?

      Love,
      Mayra

    • Today is an example of bitter sweet days when happy and sad or tragic things happen on the same day. Jim Morrison was born today..Happy Birthday, Jim. Unfortunately, John Lennon was killed on this day. We miss you, John.

    • Hi Cherokee,

      Its been a while since Ive been on. I want to thank you for this post about John Lennon. Although I wasnt born during the time he was alive. My mom was, and I got to listen to his music, as well as the Beatles. And his songs were so beautiful and inspiring.

      LOL I still remember watching the Beatles movie “Help” Love that!

      I agree its important to take the time to remember him, and the messages he wanted to get across to everyone.

      Also thanks for reminding me about Jim Morrisons bday!
      I love him. I love his music, I have read his biography, I also have that Doors movie where Val Kilmer played Jim. 🙂

      I think its so awesome that Jim is still one of your spiritual guides. It would be nice if one day you could share a message from him with all of us.

      Anyways. Just wanted to thank you again!

      Love

      Dee

      • dear Dee:
        I’m glad you grew up on the Beatles. You couldn’t of had a better inspiration. That’s why I wanted everybody to remember Him today.
        Jim will always be one of my guides, but I really don’t get channeled messages from him. It’s just telepathic communication that leads me in a certain direction. That’s the best way I can put it. Good to see you here again.
        Many blessings,
        Cherokee Billie

    • I have a book of poems that Jim Morrison wrote and I was really struck when I read about his life about what a sensitive and artistic soul he was — not like most people picture him —

      Thank you for your article about John Lennon — he was definitely ahead of his time, musically speaking and lyrically speaking. I am thankful for the influence he had on the world because his messages were so spiritual, i.e. peace and we are all one… It is also astounding how “Dear Prudence” is so perfect for my Mother…

      I am so grateful for speaking to you the other day and look forward to the next time…

      Jody (Prudence’s daughter!)

      • dear Jody:
        I certainly cannot forget you, Prudence’s daughter, because that was my first time channeling a message from John Lennon.

        You are so right about Jim Morrison, he has been portrayed as a drug addict and drunk, when there was far more to this man. I have read over 30 books on his life and is quite astounding what he accomplished in 27 years. 4 poetry books, hundreds of songs and many unpublished works. He left a great legacy.

        I look forward to speaking with you again as well.
        Many blessings,
        Cherokee Billie

  28. Being a musician, music is important to me and touches my spirit more than anything else. If I can find a song to express whatever I’m looking for, I use it. I do not know alot about John Lennon other than just general info and some of his songs. In my searching today, I found the video posted below. “Empty Garden” is performed by Elton John who dedicated the song to the memory of John Lennon, his good friend.

    Their friendship developed from a duet that John Lennon and Elton John performed in 1974 at Madison Square Garden in New York at one of John Lennon’s concerts. The garden in the song refers to Madison Square Garden.

    I remember hearing this song, but I did not know the background or the meaning behind it. Songs have more meaning for me when I can find the history or the reason for them. The source from which I got this information stated that Elton John rarely performs this song live because it brings back too many painful memories of his friend’s death.

    I hope that this song and images will have some meaning for you. It touched me. This is for you, Cherokee Billie.

  29. Oh Wow Cherokee….that’s great Jim Morrison is one of your guides!! 🙂 Yes, I can imagine JL and JM still making wonderful music now in the Spirit World 🙂

    I was given book a few Christmas’s ago “The Words and Inspiration of John Lennon” I quote from the book

    I’m not a tough guy. I’ve always had to have a facade of being tough to protect myself from other people’s neuroses. But really, I’m a very sensitive guy. I’ve been through it all and nothing works better than to have somebody you love hold you.

    The thing the sixties did was to show us the possibilities and the responsibilities that we all had. It wasn’t the answer. It just gave us a glimpse of the possibility.

    We’re one world, one people whether we like it or not……we can pretend we’re divided into races and countries.. But the reality is that it is one world and it is one people.

    Light and Love Susanxxx

    • Dear Susan:
      I didn’t know there was a book about quotations from John Lennon. Thanks for sharing that with me. He had many intelligent things to say. it’s true that we were trying to change the world in the 60’s a lot of this came about because of the death of John Kennedy. He had inspired us so much to become more than we were and his death made us more determined to change the world. In his own words, “Our most basic common link is that we all inhabit this planet. We all breathe the same air. We all cherish our children’s future. And we are all mortal.” John F. Kennedy
      thank you so much for your comment.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

      • Girls, I’m right there with you. I grew up during the 60’s, too. Just a thought……I have wondered so many times how things would have been different if the political leaders, who were assassinated, would have lived to continue their work and leadership….especially John Kennedy, Robert Kennedy, and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

        Love to you both,
        Anna

      • Yes, the book is called “The Words and Inspiration of John Lennon” IMAGINE” Inside the book is an introduction by Archbishop Desmond Tutu! It was published 2008. It might only be available in New Zealand and Australia. I think there is a series of these books for other stars quotes such as Mother Theresa, John F Kennedy, Martin Luther King.
        Susanxxxx 🙂

  30. Dear Cherokee,

    Thank you for the beautiful tribute to John Lennon. I believe he was another beautiful soul, gone too soon, that came here with important messages for all to hear.

    I remember where I was when I heard the news of his death. I had a radio alarm clock that woke me up by radio and the first thing I heard was the terrible tragic news of John Lennon being shot. What a way to wake up. I was stunned beyond words and instanly started crying. I couldn’t understand how or why such a horrible thing could happen. Needless to say, I didn’t feel like going to work that day. I still can’t believe something like that happened to our beautiful John Lennon. But the good thing is, as with our beautiful Michael Jackson, John’s wonderful and inspiring message filled music will live on forever. For that, I am thankful for.

    God Bless,
    Amy

    • dear Amy:
      I think we all remember where we were when we heard about John’s death. The wonderful thing is that he was here in this world and shared so much of himself with us and we carry it with this now and always. Thank you so much for your comment.
      Many blessings,
      Cherokee Billie

  31. tribute by Paul Mc Cartney

    • very nice. “They are blessed who work for peace, for they will be called God’s children.” Matthew 5:9

      Love and blessings to you,
      Anna

  32. you are so lucky to have lived through those crazy years of beatlemania. i, myself, feel lucky to be living while there are still two alive, because i know they will be around way after their deaths, and my own death. the beatles are and will always be my favorite band! john has always been my favorite beatle, i admire what he stood for.
    “all we are saying is give peace a chance.”-john lennon
    (hopefully one day people will learn to do that before its too late….)
    thank you cherokee for this article

  33. Wow, Cherokee Billie. What a great post. I was born three years after John died. Just like Michael, the Beatles have been a huge part of my life since day one. My mom was a big fan growing up. During the Beatles Anthology sensation in the 90s, my mom revisited her love and interest in the Beatles and we shared a bond in learning about these musical geniuses. I had always had an attraction to John. His talent, humor and intelligence we always something to admire. I was devastated to learn about how he had died. A man with such spiritual purity taken from this earth so ruthlessly…the most important aspect about John is that he had a message. LOVE. Both he and Michael have left that legacy upon their deaths. What amazing souls.
    CB, do you know what his soul is doing now? Is he going to be there for our transition like Michael? He was such an activist on earth, I wouldnt be surprised if he is also one in the soul world.

    Much Love,
    Lauren

  34. Thanx for posting this, Cherokee. I was just 12 years old and in the 6th grade when Lennon was killed. I was to young to really remember much of the Beatles back then, of course I’d heard of them, but I was brought up w/ parents who were into the Motown sound so I didn’t know much about their music. I started listening to his music after he was gone and fell in love w/ alot of it, I still think “Imagine” is 1 of the most beautiful songs that I’ve ever heard, it moves me to tears everytime I hear it.

    I now understand why his death had such an impact on so many people, I never imagined that 29 years later Michael, who also wrote some of the most beautiful lyrics ever, would be gone too. Both wrote songs that truly touched my heart and had so much love for the world.

    CB, I know they’re happy now and I hope they’re making music together that we all will some day hear.

    God bless you for sharing this with us!

  35. nancy sparks said:

    Osi’yo Cherokee, I to liked John very much,I was pumping gas at the station I worked at as day manger,the day John was killed,it was so hard to keep my mind on work and hold back tears,at times I could not. It doesn’t possible that it has been 29 years ago. But then is doesn’t seem like almost 19 years ago my youngest son died either on Mar,19,1991 he was a handicapped child frm birth he did not walk & his speach was only about 10 words,But Now He can enjoy being with John & when its my time I too can see them both.Danistayohihv&Aliheli’sdi ItseUdetiyvsadisv (MerryChristmas)in Cherokee Nancy

  36. Christmas AM Last minute rush to today’s gathering,
    Melissa Ethridge just sang Cherokee Billie and John Lennon’s …And so this is Christmas with the give peace a chance at the end. This on the classic rock station I need to ge me up…smiles…Sarah Merry Merry and What an Affirmation…xxxooo Sarah

Comments are closed.

Tag Cloud